Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

The year is 2575 and two mega-corporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice covered speck.23395680

Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Ezra and Kady have to make their escape on the evacuating fleet. But their troubles are just the beginning. A deadly plague has broken out on one of the spaceships and it is mutating with terrifying results. Their ship’s protection is seriously flawed. No one will say what is going on.

As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her. Ezra. And the only problem with that is they split up before all this trouble started and she isn’t supposed to be talking to him.

A fantastically original, heart-stopping adventure where everything is definitely more dangerous than it seems. 

Before I start with my review I have to thank Gretchen from chicnerdreads. If you hadn’t been so excited about this series I would have a) never heard of it and b) never picked it up. So THANK YOUU because I would have missed one hell of a book.

ABSOLUTELYFUCKINGAMAZING. That’s the word I’d use if I had to describe this book in one word. And yes that’s one word. But now to my review.

What I liked about the book:

  • The story. It was supposed to be a normal day. As normal as it can be after Kady broke up with Ezra the day before. It only got worse when their planet was attacked by BeiTech and suddenly they had to run for their lives to make it off their planet. When they make it onto the fleet around the battlecarrier Alexander their run isn’t over yet. The three ships have to outrun the Lincoln, a ship send to kill any witnesses of the attack on Kerenza. But the Lincoln isn’t the only problem. There is also the AI on board of the Alexander that gona a bit mad. And if that wasn’t enough already then there is also a virus no one has ever seen before, making people do unspeakable things.
  • The characters. Kady and Ezra. I was immediately won over by them. Kady for her snarky and “fuck you I do what I want” attitude. Ezra for being that goofy and totally adorable dork. There was one scene, in one of the early interviews, that sealed it for me. It was wh Ezra said this to the interviewer “Okay, well for the benefit of the sight-impaired, I am now raising my .. oh, dear .. yes its my middle finger at Mr. Postgrad here” In the end I just wanted to get them somewhere safe, far from their authors who seemed to enjoy to put them in most horrifying scenarios, wrap them in blankets and hand them hot chocolate.
  • The format. To be honest, when I first opened the book I was a bit afraid because I had never read a book in a non-traditional format. I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to get into the story, wouldn’t be able to follow it. But I was so wrong. Even though its entirely composed of interviews, chat protocols, E-Mails, video footage, radio scripts and conversations with the AI, and other stuff like ship schematics, casualty lists or even a countdown, following the story never was a problem. Because in my imagination it was so real. I could see just what happened, when Kady and Ezra were talking about their escape from Kerenza. I could see Ezra in his cyclone unsure of what to do  when they got that order from AIDAN. Everything was so damn alive.
  • The genre. The mix just made it. We get the SciFi elements, adding to that the Thriller elements of a mad AI and a virus, unknown to mankind.
  • The design. You can see just how much work and love have been put into making this book and it’s incredible. I have never seen a book before that has been designed with so much love. And it makes the whole experience of reading this book so much better.

What I disliked about the book:

  • It ended. It may be about 600 pages long, but you will be so invested in it, you don’t even notice how fast the pages are turning. And without knowing you are at the end of the book and don’t know what to do with yourself.

That leads to the most important question: WHY IS GEMINA ONLY COMING OUT IN OCTOBER?!?!?!?!

My Rating: ★★★★★ (x1000 bc this book was amazing)

5 thoughts on “Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

  1. Pingback: Day 16: Best book you’ve read in the last 6 months – justagirlwithabookdream

  2. Pingback: .. my favourite books of 2016 | justagirlwithabookdream

Leave a Reply

