Monster Hunter International by Larry Correia

Five days after Owen Zastava Pitt pushed his insufferable boss out of a fourteenth story window, he woke23349675 up in the hospital with a scarred face, an unbelievable memory, and a job offer. It turns out that monsters are real. All the things from myth, legend, and B-movies are out there, waiting in the shadows. Officially secret, some of them are evil, and some are just hungry. On the other side are the people who kill monsters for a living Monster Hunter International is the premier eradication company in the business. And now Owen is their newest recruit.
It’s actually a pretty sweet gig, except for one little problem. An ancient entity known as the Cursed One has returned to settle a centuries old vendetta.Should the Cursed One succeed, it means the end of the world, and MHI is the only thing standing in his way. With the clock ticking towards Armageddon, Owen finds himself trapped between legions of undead minions, belligerent federal agents, a cryptic ghost who has taken up residence inside his head, and the cursed family of the woman he loves. Business is good . . . Welcome to Monster Hunter International.

Okay oops. I know I said I was only focusing on my list of the “Youth Special” Event I would be doing with two of my fellow trainees. Well I guess I’m not good at following my own plans :/

Any way. After changing departments in June I’m now in the “Grown-Up” section of our shop, means I’m responsible for the Fantasy/Science Fiction part. On one of my first days a book caught my eyes, only later I found out it was Book 3 of this series, and I kept going back to it. But I wasn’t the only one interested in this book. The two trainees that had been in the department before me were also intrigued by it. A few weeks later we three got us each a copy of it and started reading. I was a bit late bc I had been reading Everything I never told you by Celeste Ng.

But enough of my bubbling now. Here’s my review.

What I liked about the book:

  • The first sentence. We all know how important a good intro is. The first sentences decide whether we continue reading or rather put it down. And damn what hell of a first sentence was this. “On one otherwise ordinary Tuesday evening I had the chance to live the American dream. I was able to throw my incompetent jackass of a boss from a fourteenth story window.”
  • Holly Newcastle. She isn’t the main character, tho I’d love to read more about her background story. Holly is a total badass. She doesn’t like to be belittled. She can perfectly save herself.She used to be a stripper before she joined the business. She’s good at what she’s doing.
  • The story. Owen’s childhood had been filled with violence and guns. So after finally moving away he vows himself to live a normal life. No guns. No fights. No violence. He gets a small flat, becomes an accountant in a midsize company and his boss is a jerk. Everything seemed fine. Until one day he has to learn his boss isn’t human anymore and wants him dead. His spectacular fight does not only bring the FBI to the scene but also Monster Hunter International, or short MHI. The organisation is specialized in hunting and killing monsters of all sort and they want Owen to join them. It’s only a few months into Owen’s training that something entirely evil lands on our earth, planning to destroy the world like we know it. So much to Owen’s plan to have a normal life.
  • The action. It’s never getting boring. Want a normal life? Have a werwolf trying to kill you. First month of training? Why not have to fight a horde of zombies, a bunch of vampires and top it with a Master-Vampire. Just want to visit your love’s father? Try fighting gargoyles while you are hanging out of the back of a car. Need to rest so your wounds can heal? Why not fight another Master-Vampire. Think you can finally defeat the evil Chosen One? It’s a trap and you are surrounded by a never-ending mass of insect-like demons. Have found the Chosen One for real this time? Fight the rest of his 7 Master-Vampires, and then have to fight against the reincarnation of an evil priestess who wants to release the old gods.
  • Elves and Orcs. Forget what you learned from Tolkien. Elves are flawless and beautiful creatures? Pff. Not really. They live far away from any civilization, living in a trailer park, spending the days watching TV shows and quizzes and love a good beer. Dozens of crates of beer actually. Orcs are dim-witted and only want to hurt? Hah. Elves Not in this book. In the last third we get to know one clan better. It’s Skippy’s clan who is an important part of MHI. They love to rock out to Heavy Metal (even the little kids mosh to it it’s so adorable), are incredibly loyal and even better fighter.

What I disliked about the book:

  • Guns. It’s not like I totally disliked that part of the book – I guess it’s somehow important bc the team relies on their guns to save their lives – but let’s say it would have still been great if it had been less descriptive. I guess what you can take from this is, if you are strictly against guns and weapons of all sort, or don’t like reading about them for whatever reason, you probably shouldn’t pick this book up.

But if you have no problem with that, Go ahead and read it. You won’t regret it.

 

My Rating: ★★★★★

One thought on “Monster Hunter International by Larry Correia

  1. Pingback: .. my favourite books of 2016 | justagirlwithabookdream

Leave a Reply

