Lockwood & Co. – The Creeping Shadow by Jonathan Stroud

28501512Lucy has left Lockwood & Co. A freelance operative, she is hiring herself out to other agencies – agencies that might value her ever-improving skills.

But now Lockwood needs her help.

Penelope Fittes, leader of the well-renowned Fittes Agency wants Lockwood & Co. – and only them – to locate and remove the ‘Source’ for the legendary Brixton Cannibal.

It’s a tough assignment. Made worse by the tensions between Lucy and the other agents – even the skull is treating her like a jilted lover!

What will it take to reunite the team? Black marketeers, an informant ghost, a Spirit Cape that transports the wearer, and mysteries involving their closest rivals may just do the trick.

But not all is at it seems. And it’s not long before a shocking revelation rocks Lockwood & Co. to its very core . . .

As some of you may have read on my favourites page I am a big fan of Jonathan Stroud’s Lockwood & Co. series. I have loved and devoured all of the previous books and couldn’t wait for Book 4 to come out. And even though I’m probably already too old to see ghosts  (same damn problem with my Hogwarts letter)  I can’t and won’t stop wishing I was part of it..

Anyway here’s why I liked/disliked this book:

What I like about the book:

  • The writing. Jonathan Stroud really knows how to hook people. And once again I have been hooked to the book from page 1. I read whenever and wherever I could. On the bus, before work, during break, after work, instead of sleeping or being on my laptop. I didn’t want to put the book down and even cursed work several times for keeping me from it.
  • The skull. We get quite some skull-time this time. Lucy takes it to every case she takes up, hoping the insight of the skull will help her solve the case. After months of only them two, Lucy teams up with Lockwood & Co., much to the dismay of the skull. But then it gets kidnapped and chaos begins.
  • Quill Kipps. I have to admit I never really like Quill in the first books. He was teasing Lockwood every time they met, acted like he was the best ghost-hunter around and was a jerk in general. But in Book 4 we see a completely new side of him. Not only did he pay a big price for helping Lockwood & Co. out in Book 3, but he also lost his ability to see and hear ghosts. He had a really rough time but seeing him so excited  – he was like a kid on christmas day – warmed my heart. He was back in his element and happy as never before.
  • Lots of ghosts. Again we have a fair share of ghosts. Of course we have the usual lurkers and shades. But we also get to meet three very strong types of ghost. Starting with a wicked witch, a cannibal and a ghost so strong it raises other ghosts from their graves.
  • And even more action. I don’t want to spoil too much so all I say is upside down and an aauction gone wrong.
  • The end. AND WHAT AN END!! The book doesn’t just end with the usual securing and destroying of sources. Not it ends with a boom, plot twist after plot twist and even more unanswered questions.

What I disliked about the book:

  • The end. THAT F*CKING CLIFFHANGER!!! WHAT WERE YOU THINKING STROUD??!?!?  YOU CAN’T LEAVE US HANGING THERE LIKE THIS!!! I NEED ANSWERS!! HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO WAIT SO LONG FOR BOOK 5!???!??

My Rating: ★★★★★

One thought on “Lockwood & Co. – The Creeping Shadow by Jonathan Stroud

  1. Pingback: September Wrap-Up – justagirlwithabookdream

Leave a Reply

