october-wrapup

Aaaand another month is over. I hope you all had a great reading month, I surely enjoyed the books I have been reading. And without further ado here are the books I read this month


Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Only about 20 days are left until Hypatia arrives at Jumpstation Heimdall. But Jumpstation Heimdall has other things to worry about. Not only is the wormhole technology faulty, but also is the station infiltrated by a group of 24 highly trained soldiers with only one mission. Destroy Hypatia and then kill every witness on Heimdall. But the soldiers didn’t reckon with Nik Malikova and Hanna Donelly. They won’t give up their home so easily. But there is also something deep down by the reactors. Something dark. Something dangerous.

This book is another masterpiece by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. Again it’s amazingly illustrated and gosh the story .. It really will leave you breathless.

If you want to check out my review, click HERE.

Rating: ★★★★★

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Megan Spooner

Being the daughter of the richest man in the universe certainly has its benefits.So for her 16th birthday Lilac LaRoux got a special present. She’ll be on the first flight of the luxury spaceliner Icarus. But something is wrong. The alarms go off and everyone on the ships hurries to the escape pods. Together with Tarver Merendsen, a war hero, Lilac makes it to the pods. Soon the spaceliner is ripped from hyperspace and crashes onto the nearest planet. While they are trying to reach the crash site of the spaceliner looking for help, they discover a terrible truth.

I picked this book up because a colleague of mine had read it and absolutely loved it. I have to admit I had a hard time to get into the book. The beginning was slow but once they land on the new planet it gets so interesting. I still had a few problems at the beginning with Lilac at the beginning tho, but her character grows over the book and in the end I loved her very much. Since this is only the first book in the Starbound Series I definitely will pick up the other books as well.

Rating: ★★★★

Evolution – Die Stadt der Überlebenden by Thomas Thiemeyer **Only available in German**

Lucie and Jem are on the way to the United States for an exchange program. But on the plane something strange happens. They hit turbulence and suddenly the cabin is filled with a blinding white light. When the plane makes an emergency landing at Denver International Airport nobody can believe their eyes.The airport is abandoned. The runway and streets are overgrown with all sorts of plants and grass. Even animals are behaving strangely. In this entirely different world Lucie, Jem and the other exchange students set out to find out what happened. But they are not alone and in great danger.

I found this book when I was looking for another for a fourth book for round 2 of the youth recs event my shop is organizing. I wanted to get something with a little more action that boys would love. Being a sucker for dystopian/end time novels I thought this was going to be interesting. I did like the plot and 8/10 characters, two of them were massive assholes and I just wanted to slap them tbh. The rest.. i don’t know. It had such a great potential but didn’t live up to it. Maybe the next books, there are two announced for 2017, will solve my problems with it. Who knows. It wasn’t entirely bad, but could have been a bit better.

Rating: ★★★
5 thoughts on “

  1. I LOVED Gemina SO MUCH! Gah I haven’t even reviewed it yet because all I want to do is stand on the street and shove it at people, also the illustrations by Marie Lu are gorgeous and I hope she does the next book as well although whatever they do for the next I’m sure it will be just as amazing XD

    Great wrap up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

