.. my favourite books of 2016

lets-talk-about1

 Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

“Carry On is a love letter to love stories and the power of words – to every ‘chosen one’ who ever had more on their mind than saving the world…” (x)

This book is so dear to me for various reasons. Reason 1: It’s a book written by Rainbow Rowell and I will forever think of a very close friend of mine whenever I pick one of her books up because due to her I found one of my new favourite authors. Reason 2: This is the story Cath is writing in Fangirl and love reading fanfictions. Also I got Fangirl as a present from my lovely friend from Reason 1. I used to .. no actually sometimes I still do write fanfictions myself. So having a character like Cath was just amazing. And seeing her fanfiction become reality (at least to us) was even better. Reason 3: This book made me laugh out so loud so many times. A lot of colleagues were asking me why I was smiling so much and my response was always “This book is so good”. If you need a good-mood-reading, this book is perfect for it.

Monster Hunter International by Larry Correia

Monster Hunter International is the first book in an ass-kicking fantasy series – lots of dark humour and even more action.

I enjoyed this book so much haha. I think one of the main reasons I liked this book was that I got to enjoy it with two colleagues, who are very close to me. Whenever we shared a lunch break we would talk a bit about the book. “OMG that scene was so funny” “Can you believe Grant actually did that? Haha” “What the heck is Owen doing?” “It’s not ending like this, right? Tell me it’s not ending like this!!?!?!”  Of course that’s not all. We get some really cool characters and even cooler fantasy creatures and beasts (I adored the Orcs in this book so much. There’s this scene when they are visiting the tribe and the kids are moshing to Heavy Metal and their mothers look at them so proudly .. Yeah that was one of my favourite scenes). If you are looking for a fun fantasy read and you don’t mind a bit of blood than you should check this one out.

You can find my review here.

Six of crows by Leigh Bardugo

“Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.” (x)

I think the characters really made this book for me. I loved them all so very much. I loved that we got to learn so much their pasts, about what made them who they are now, what influenced them. I loved how we learned all the small things that made them. I loved reading about their friendships, as strong and uniques as they are. And then of course we have the story that is packed with lots of action and entertains you very well. This book is simply perfection.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.” (x)

Where do I even start with this book? .. Absolutely everything about this book is so damn perfect. Let’s start with the design. The attention to detail is just outstanding. You can see how much work and heart were put into creating something so unique. You also see that in the format of the book, as it’s entirely written in documents. At first I was unsure if this would work since I haven’t read a book like this before. But they connect so perfectly and create this very unique story. And then we have our main characters, Kady and Ezra, who are just so lovable. I absolutely loved Kady and her badass attitude. Also the relationship between the both was incredible because they are working so great together.

I will never be able to thank Gretchen @ chicnerdreads enough for introducing me to these amazing books. I would have soo missed out

You can also find my review here.

Tagwind by Jennifer Wolf   **only available in german**

This book is an emotional rollercoaster.

Story time: About a year ago a friend got me into this series – okay she was bullying us into reading it but I’m glad she did because these books are so sweet. So the book is basically about Yannis, who is the most wanted bachelor in Hemera and he’s really adorable with kids and all, and Sol, who is the eldest son of goddess Gaia. Yannis feels bad because everyone keeps telling him to find a woman and finally start a family but he has feelings for Sol but tries to hide them because why on earth would a god fall for him and Sol is supposed to find a woman anyway, right? But after they finally confess their love for each other, they have to deal with hatred from the villagers. It’s just a really adorable love story.


What were some of your favourite books in 2016?

One thought on “.. my favourite books of 2016

Leave a Reply

