5 reasons why 2017 is going to be my year

A teacher once gave me this advice: If you want to achieve something, tell other people about it. Because by telling other people about your goals will help you reach your goal(s), by creating a positive pressure.

So here I am.

www-jamiehelp-co

#1 More time for blogging

About 9 months ago I created this blog. Made two posts and then disappeared for another 2 months. It’s fair to say that I have underestimated how hard it would be to maintain a blog. I thought “Hey you talk about books all day why not make a blog” and I was sure the ideas would just come to my mind. Boy, was I naive.

But over the past months I have learned from my first mistakes. I’ve grown with my blog over the past months as well and I want to grow with it even more over the next year. That’s why I’m going to define blogging time in my free time to work on the plans I have for my blog.

#2 So much to read

This year I want to focus a bit on the books I have on my never-ending pile more like mountain of unread books. Of course I will also catch up with new releases and I also will look out for more diverse books, but this pile of books needs to shrink.

That’s why I want to define some reading time as well. Usually I only read a bit before work and during my lunch break. But I want to take some time on the weekend where I turn my phone and laptop off and won’t let anyone disturb me.

#3 Love myself more

It’s about damn time I put this on my agenda.

For years I have been neglecting myself, tearing myself down whenever I had the chance to and treated myself bad in general. It’s time that this stops and I start to appreciate, respect and love myself again.

I’m going to do whatever makes me feel best this year. I will leave toxic people behind. I will stop comparing me to others. I will appreciate my life as it is and make the best of it. And I won’t let anyone bring me down.

#4 I’m finishing training

I started an incredible journey in 2013. On the 1st November I had my first official day as bookseller-trainee. While it has its Ups and Downs I did enjoy every minute of it. I met some of my closest friends via school and found great friends in my fellow trainees. The shop has become my second home, and my colleagues my new family. I got the chance to meet some very lovely authors and participated in some cool events my shop organized.

3 years have passed since then and my time here is almost over. I have grown a lot during this time and I will forever be thankful for the opportunity that has been given to me. After I already wrote my finals in November last year I’m waiting for my oral exam to take place, which will mark the end of this journey.

So what’s next?

#5 Let’s move out

There were two things I was sure about, 1) I want to stay in the book trade and 2) I had to move. So what should I do?

Now this is something I have been thinking and over thinking for over a year now. Where should I move to, the next bigger city? Maybe even Frankfurt, since this i a very special city to me? Or somewhere completely else?

I answered myself this question in February last year.

After spending a week in London last year, I fell for this city all over again. And while I know, being somewhere on holidays and actually living there are two entirely different things I wanna give this a shot. I’m giving myself a year and then see where it will take me. Maybe I will love it and stay a little longer. Maybe I want to move back to Germany after this year. Or maybe I’ll move somewhere else. Who knows what 2018 has in store for me.


2017 will be a very special year for me. There are a lot of things coming up that I’m excited about.

I hope you all will have a great year and achieve everything you wish for.


What are your plans and goals for 2017? What are you looking forward in 2017?

One thought on “5 reasons why 2017 is going to be my year

  1. Pingback: How is 2017 going so far? // Also I’m back | justagirlwithabookdream

Leave a Reply

