5 lessons I learned in 2016

what-2016-taught2

#1 Good friends are invaluable

2016 wasn’t an easy year for me. But despite its Ups and many Downs there was one thing I could always count on. My friends.They picked me up when I fell. Cheered me up when I was sad. We went on adventures together, exploring cities we’ve never been to. Even if we were only playing Pokemon Go together. My best memories of 2016 all include my friends and I can’t wait to make more memories in 2017 with them.

#2 Mental health is important!

I’ve been quite stressed out in 2016, which took a huge toll on me, both mentally and emotionally. And being someone who tends to just bottle everything up until it gets too much at some points just makes everything worse.

The past year made me realize that I can’t keep going like this and just how important your mental health is. It’s important to look after yourself and take the time to do so. It’s important to love yourself.

#3 If you like it, wear it

What will people think when I wear this? That was my first thought whenever I got ready. No matter if I was getting ready to go to work or going out to the city or somewhere else. And even then I was still self-conscious, worrying what everyone else was thinking.

But at some point last year I stopped caring. Let them talk. Let them stare. This is my body and I wear whatever I want to. And I will keep wearing what

#4 Go and see the world

In the past year I visited a few places I’ve never been to before. It was fun to walk around and explore the unknown, to get away from my hometown for a bit and see the world. It also made me realize that I want to see so much more. I want to travel the world and will continue this in 2017.

#5 Try something new

That’s actually something I have to do in 2017 because I hate to try new things. Well .. I don’t really hate it but if I have to choose between trying something new or sticking to the known .. I will always pick the latter. There were a few chances where I could have tried something new to me, but I didn’t take them and yes I do regret it.


What lessons have you learned in 2016? What do you wanna change in 2017?

One thought on “5 lessons I learned in 2016

Leave a Reply

