March Wrap-Up

Hello everyone. Yet another month is over and it was quite an interesting reading month for me. You can read more about the books I’ve read under the line 🙂

MarchWrapUp


Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.
But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.
Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.
(x)

This book was such an amazing read. I was sooo into the story and the characters that I couldn’t put this book down until I had finished it. It took me 2 days!! (I probs would have made it in 1 day but I had to go to work)

Rating: ★★★★★

Wir fliegen, wenn wir fallen by Ava Reed **Only available in german**

Sleep one night under the stars. Take a walk in the rainforest. See the northern lights … That’s just a few wishes on the list Phil left his grandson Noel and the 17-year-old Yara. To fulfill Phil’s last wish Noel and Yara have to cross off every point on the list. Together. Even though Noel and Yara don’t like each other very much, they agree on it. For Phil. Soon they start their journey, not knowing that this will change their lives forever.

Maybe my expectations were too high when I started this book – so many people seemed to loved this book and gave it 5 stars on several german sites. I have to say this book was a pleasant read but it didn’t sweep me off my feet.

Rating: ★★★

Under Ground by S. L. Grey

The Sanctum is a luxurious, self-sustaining survival condominium situated underground in rural Maine. It’s a plush bolt-hole for the rich and paranoid – a place where they can wait out the apocalypse in style. When a devastating super-flu virus hits the States, several families race to reach it. All have their own motivations for entering The Sanctum. All are hiding secrets.
But when the door locks and someone dies, they realize the greatest threat to their survival may not be above ground – it may already be inside . . .
(x)

When I first saw this book and read the synopsis I wanted to read this book so badly. I was so sure I would love this. A deadly virus outbreak is threatening humanity and a bunch of people are trapped in a bunker. This could have been an absolute thrilling book. But it wasn’t.. I had to force myself to keep reading it because I was hoping it would get better at some point. If the end hadn’t surprised me I probably would have given it only 1 star.

Rating: ★★

More weird things customers say in bookshops by Jen Campbell

Customer (holding up a book): What’s this? The Secret Garden? Well, it’s not so secret now, is it, since they bloody well wrote a book about it!

Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops was a Sunday Times bestseller, and could be found displayed on bookshop counters up and down the country. The response to the book from booksellers all over the world has been one of heartfelt agreement: it would appear that customers are saying bizarre things all over the place – from asking for books with photographs of Jesus in them, to hunting for the best horse owner’s manual that has a detailed chapter on unicorns.

Customer: I had such a crush on Captain Hook when I was younger. Do you think this means I have unresolved issues? (x)

This is part 2 of Jen Campbell’s collection of weird and funny encounters in bookshops. It’s just as much fun as reading the first one.

Rating: ★★★★★

What books have you been reading in March?

Leave a Reply

