.. Bookish Pet Peeves

lets-talk-about1

I know we all have some .. things that drive us crazy about books. Here are some of mine:


Love Triangles or Instalove

Okay this probably makes me sound like I hate romance, but I find nothing more annoying than the main character being stuck in a love triangle or the falling instantly in love.

Movie Covers

DON’T YOU DARE TOUCH MY FAVOURITE BOOK! JUST DON’T! DON’T YOU DARE AND RUIN A PERFECT BOOK BY CHANGING TO THE MOVIE COVER! PLEASE NO!

Stickers … especially the really sticky ones

Working in a bookstore myself, I know we sometimes have to put stickers on as there is no scan code on the book or for whatever reason. But all of our stickers are easy to peel off. Nothings is more annoying than those damn stickers that don’t want to come off..

Authors taking ages to continue a series

Yes, I’m looking at you George R. R. Martin. And also you, Kresley Cole. I hate waiting. Do not make me wait 3 years before you publish Book 4 of your series. Don’t make me hate you. I will still read your books tho as I grumble about how much I hate you for making me wait.

Books without a summary on the back

I don’t care what other people think about the book, well no I do care, but I wanna know what the book is about first. I don’t care that someone at The Washington Post thinks the book is “Absolutely brilliant”, I want to know what I’m going to get myself into before I buy the book.

Bad written characters

That’s pretty self-explanatory.

Excessive descriptions

Again I guess this is pretty self-explanatory. I’m glad the main character is enjoying the view or dinner or whatever, but I don’t need half a chapter describing said view/dinner/whatever.

Books in a series that are not marked

Luckily most publishers do mark their books somehow. Either by writing “Book 1”, “Book 2” or something similar on the spine or by adding a list of all books in a series somewhere inside. But some don’t and you are left to figure out in which order to read a series on your own.

Weird names

Dear authors, I understand you don’t want to give your characters just any name. But please, I beg you, at least give them names I can pronounce. I do not want to awkwardly skip over a character’s name because I have no idea how it is properly pronounced.

Ugly book covers or covers that don’t even fit the book

Dear publishers, please have in mind that one reason I bought your book is the cover. (Yes, I’m a book cover snob..) If a book cover catches my eyes the chance of me actually buying it is pretty high. So yeah, sometimes I do buy I book solely because I think it looks pretty.  Or because it gives away just enough of the story to intrigue me.


What are some of your bookish pet peeves?

Leave a Reply

