My London Book-Haul

Last month I got to spend a few days in one of my favourite cities. London. And you guys can guess where I spend most of my time. Of course in bookstores.

And what happens when I’m left alone in a bookstore? Unsupervised? – I buy all the books.

My London Book-Haul

31929313

How to Be a Bawse: A Guide to Conquering Life by Lilly Singh

From actress, comedian and YouTube sensation Lilly Singh (aka Superwoman) comes the definitive guide to being a BAWSE – a person who exudes confidence, reaches goals, gets hurt efficiently, and smiles genuinely because they’ve fought through it all and made it out the other side.

Told in her hilarious, bold voice that’s inspired over 9 million fans, and using stories from her own life to illustrate her message, Lilly proves that there are no shortcuts to success.

WARNING: This book does NOT include hopeful thoughts, lucky charms, and cute quotes. That’s because success, happiness and everything else you want in life needs to be fought for – not wished for. In Lilly’s world, there are no escalators. Only stairs.

I LOVE LILLY SINGH.

But that’s not the reason I bought this book. On my first day in London I paid the Waterstones branch at Trafalgar Square a visit. After browsing the story for a while my eyes fell on her book.

I knew she had written a book, but I didn’t knew what exactly it was about. I figured she was writing about her life on the road, her documentary and her live shows I picked it up and read over the first few pages. I couldn’t have been more wrong.

After reading a few chapters I knew I had to get this book. What I read was already so damn inspirational, that I couldn’t wait to read the rest of it.

Also it was signed by Lilly.


Monster Hunter International + Monster Hunter Vendetta by Larry Correia

Are these book new to me? No. So why did I buy them? Well .. Also on the first day I went to an amazing store called Forbidden Planet (this place is heaven on earth!!). I don’t know why I had this idea but I thought “Hey it would be really fun if I look for the MHI series. Just to see if they have it”. And guess what, they actually had the books in stock.

Is that the reason I bought those books? Hell no. I bought them because 1) I really like reading books in the original language and 2) Book 2 was signed by the author (HE EVEN DREW THE SMILEY WITH DEVILS HORNS IN THERE!!)


22906853

Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson

Ten years ago, Calamity came. It was a burst in the sky that gave ordinary men and women extraordinary powers. The awed public started calling them Epics. But Epics are no friend of man. With incredible gifts came the desire to rule. And to rule man you must crush his will.

Nobody fights the Epics…nobody but the Reckoners. A shadowy group of ordinary humans, they spend their lives studying Epics, finding their weaknesses, and then assassinating them.

And David wants in. He wants Steelheart — the Epic who is said to be invincible. The Epic who killed David’s father. For years, like the Reckoners, David’s been studying, and planning — and he has something they need. Not an object, but an experience.

He’s seen Steelheart bleed. And he wants revenge.

Quite some time ago I saw this book at the bookshop I work for. I thought the synopsis was super interesting and I was thinking about actually getting this book for some time, but somehow never did. And then it somehow slipped my mind completely..

Only last year I was reminded of its existence when I read a discussion post by the lovely ladies at Thrice Read. Again I thought “I really needed to read this book” and again I didn’t buy it (Shame on me!). So when I saw it in London I knew I just had to buy it.


26041131

Tolkien: A Dictionary by David Day

Full of beautiful illustrations, this book is an indispensable guide to the rick, mythical world of middle-earth and undying lands.

Arranged in a handy A-Z format, this book explores and explains the creatures, plants, events and places that make up these strange and wonderful lands. It is essential reading for anyone who loves Tolkien’s works and want to learn more about them.

Once again I was browsing the Waterstones branch at Trafalgar Square. And there I stumbled upon this beauty and its companions (“The battles of Tolkien” and “An Atlas of Tolkien”, both by David Day). Being a big fan of Tolkien’s work I knew I had to get at least one of them. So I went with the first one I saw.


25744542

On the other side by Carrie Hope Fletcher

Evie Snow is eighty-two when she quietly passes away in her sleep, surrounded by her children and grandchildren. It’s the way most people wish to leave the world but when Evie reaches the door of her own private heaven, she finds that she’s become her twenty-seven-year-old self and the door won’t open.

Evie’s soul must be light enough to pass through so she needs to get rid of whatever is making her soul heavy. For Evie, this means unburdening herself of the three secrets that have weighed her down for over fifty years, so she must find a way to reveal them before it’s too late. As Evie begins the journey of a lifetime, she learns more about life and love than she ever thought possible, and somehow , some way, she may also find her way back to her long lost love . . .

I heard the first time of Carrie a few years ago. I wasn’t in the best state of mind back then and a friend send me a few of her videos, hoping that they would help me change the negative image I had of myself.

I knew she had written a few books and I had this one actually on my “want to read” list on Goodreads. I don’t know why I hadn’t bought it before.. (probably because my  pile of books I need to read was already way too big back then)

I guess you could say it was fate that I spotted On the other side on my last day in London. Otherwise I probably wouldn’t have gotten it in a looong time.

Leave a Reply

