Bookshelf Tour #11

HowlsMovingCastle

“How about making a bargain with me?” said the demon. “I’ll break your spell if you agree to break this contact I’m under.”

In the land of Ingary, where seven-league boots and cloaks of invisibility really exist, Sophie Hatter attracts the unwelcome attention of the Witch of the Waste, who puts a curse on her. Determined to make the best of things, Sophie travels to the one place where she might get help – the moving castle which hovers on the nearby hills.

But the castle belongs to the dreaded Wizard Howl whose appetite, they say, is satisfied only by the hearts of young girls..

Maybe some of you know the anime Howl’s Moving Castle. And maybe some of you have watched this movie a few times. Or like a thousand times like me. Only in 2015 I found out this anime was based on the story of Diana Wynne Jones. I watched this movie for years and never noticed the “based on the story of …” gaaah..

Anyway, of course I had to get and read this book. But I was a bit hesitant at first. Howl’s Moving Castle is one of my favourite anime movies ever and I didn’t want the book to change my love for it. It didn’t.

The book gives you a lot more details to the story you already know. And I liked reading more about Howl’s and Sophie’s relationship. About Sophie’s relationship with her family. About the truth behind the Witch of the Waste. Gosh I really enjoyed this book.

And guess what? I just found out today that this book is only the beginning in a trilogy. Like, how have I only learned about that now??? I NEED TO GET THOSE BOOKS!!!

Leave a Reply

