All the books I read // May + June Wrap-Up

June has been an amazing and productive month for me. I’ve taken the huge step to move to London (Yay! to that), read 8 books (also yay!) and I think I’ve never been as productive as I’ve been in the past 2 weeks.

MayJuneWrapUp

Books I read in May

30831912

Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman

I found this book while I was exploring Nuremberg with a friend a few months ago. I had just started watching the series Vikings and was super into the norse mythology so this book was a must-buy. While I did like some of the stories I had my difficulties with Gaiman’s style of writing.

My Rating: ★★★

Books I read in June

Arcana Rising by Kresley Cole

Arcana Rising – the long-awaited fourth book in The Arcana Chronicles. After that devastating ending of book 3 I NEEDED another book. But it took ages until the book 4  was published. It continues just where we left and follows the story of Evie. This story fueled my love and hate for this series even more. BUT I NEED THE FIFTH BOOK NOW!!! KRESLEY COLE, I BEG YOU!!!! GIVE IT TO MEEEE!

My Rating: ★★★★

Day Zero by Kresley Cole

I guess you could say this book is some sort of “companion book”. It’s more of a prequel I think. This book gives us a list of the 22 Arcana and their names. We also get the “Day 0” stories of most characters. It was interesting to read the backstories of the Arcana we meet, and of some we don’t get to meet but after reading this book wish we could have.

My Rating: ★★★★★

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

I picked this book up for the Fantasy and Science Fiction Book club I joined here.This book has been published ages ago and yet its story is as relevant as ever. Can you imagine living in a world where women are reduced to being housekeeper, sex toys and breeders? Just thinking about the possibility left me awake at night. This book will stay with me for a long time and if you haven’t read it yet, you totally should!

My Rating: ★★★★★

Books I re-read in June

The Arcana Chronicles (Poison Princess + Endless Knight + Dead of Winter) by Kresley Cole

I thought 2017 was the perfect year to finally read the fourth book in this series. And since I read the first three books 2 years ago I decided I would re-read those first and then continue with the story. And I’m glad I did, because I forgot quite a lot about the story.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Earlier this month I got an Email from dtv (a german publisher) I was very happy about. Why was I so happy about this mail? Well, later this year (on the 13th October to be exact) Illuminae will be published in Germany and with this Email I got a free digital copy of the book. So of course I had to re-read it in german.

3 thoughts on “All the books I read // May + June Wrap-Up

  1. I really need to pick up Norse Mythology. I’m a huge Gaiman fan and it just sounds like something I’d enjoy quite a lot. Thanks for the post! You had a great couple months of reading. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

      • I recommend Good Omens, which he co-authored with Terry Pratchet. That’s a great introduction. If you prefer young adult over adult urban fantasy (which is what Omens is), then I recommend Coraline or The Graveyard Book. Both great places to begin. 😃

        Like

Leave a Reply

