Let’s have a look into the future! // Where I see myself in 10 years

Can we imagine this scenario for a moment? Let’s say it’s a rainy saturday afternoon. You hadn’t been able to read much over the week and decide now is the perfect time to catch up on some reading. Since you had finished your latest book you needed to find a new one.

So you walk over to your bookshelves to get your next read off your ever-growing TBR pile. While your eyes scan the various titles you mindlessly brush your finger over the spines of the books on the shelves. Until your finger comes to rest on one book in particular. A book you could have sworn you haven’t bought.

Being your curious self you pick the book of your shelf and sit down in you favourite reading spot. You are a little confused when you couldn’t find a title on the spine or the front of the book, but open it anyway.

But even more confusing is the content.

It shows you what your life will be in 10 years.

Happy 2027, everyone

What would you see if you opened that book?

I’m pretty sure this book would have been a lovely novella a few months ago. Back then I had a clear goal (be a proud owner of a bookshop) and I did everything so my path would be leading this way. So my book would have shown me how I either already had achieved that goal or would be about to reach it.

But now?

Now it’s one of those “Enter a scenario here. What are you going to do? If you choose A, please continue reading on page 42. If you choose B, please continue reading on page 364″ kind of books.

So where do you see yourself in 10 years?

Honestly?

No f*cking clue. Well actually no .. There I do have a clue or two. Or quite a lot actually. There are so many things I want to do right now – maybe too many –  and I’m probably going to try out a few and decide “Nah, that’s not me” but I can see myself doing some of those in the future.

This blog for example. I can totally see myself still blogging in the year of 2027. My main theme may change a bit over the years or different topics are added, but I do see this blog in my future somehow. But then again it might be just a chapter in the story of my life that I will close in a few years.

Other things I can see in my future:

  • living in Frankfurt or some other german city
  • not living in Germany at all
  • owning a cute little bookshop
  • not owning a shop but still working in one
  • doing something entirely different
  • still having that Youtube channel I want to start with a friend
  • having my own Youtube channel
  • having no channel at all
  • being involved in Wrestling one way or another

Or I do none of these things in the future. Who knows.

Okay but why this post?

When I first planned this post I wanted this to be a fun little post about what I have planned for my future. I wanted to talk about my plans for my little bookshop and kind of encourage you all to follow your dreams.

Don’t get me wrong, I still want to encourage people but in a different way.

Am I making much sense right now? Probably not, so let me tell you a little story. There have been these thoughts going through my head for some weeks now. I ignored them as best as possible as I wanted to think only about my next step – going to London. I didn’t want to think about anything else.

And then Brighton happened. If you follow me on Instagram you might have seen my post about going to Brighton for a day and night. When I was there I had some time to relax and sit down at the beach. And while I was sitting there, staring out over the sea, my thoughts were racing.

I started to question everything. What am I doing here? Where do I want to go with my life? Where do I want to be in a year? Where do I want to be in 5 years? What am I doing if London doesn’t work out as planned? What will I do when I’m back in Germany?

End of the story, I was having a midlife-crisis.

At 23.

I was on the verge of a breakdown and I probably would have gone mad if it hadn’t been for two very close friends. They listened to my rambling all night and comforted me as best as possible.

And you know what? I do feel a lot better about it. Does that mean I have another plan? Nope. Does that scare me? Hell yeah. But it won’t stop me from enjoying my life as it is right now.

And I guess that’s what I’m trying to say with this post.

You know exactly where you are going to be in 10 years time? That’s great. I wish you all the best! You don’t even know where you want to be next year? Well that’s good too. You don’t need to know where you want to be in a year or five or ten. You don’t need to have everything planned just now. You have so much time to find your path in life.

And as a close friend of mine told me, “very rarely do things go according to plan in life”


What are your thoughts? Do you have your life planned out already? What kind of things would such a book show you? Would you even want to find out?

Leave a Reply

