All the books I read // July Wrap-Up

July has been an incredible months for me. I started working on July 3rd and moved into my own room almost two weeks ago. Everything is falling into place slowly and I  couldn’t be happier about it.

But let’s get into the books I read this month shall we?

JulyWrapUp

Books I read in July

The Power by Naomi Alderman

I picked this book up after my first Book Club meeting. I have seen it on the way there and knew it had just won the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction, so I stopped to read the Synopsis on the back of it. I didn’t buy it then but when the meeting was over and I was staying to browse a bit.

But enough about how I got to it. This book was absolutely brilliant. It’s a scary mix of fiction and fact. Why scary? Because this fictional world is so different to our world (Girls and women have the Power) but yet so similiar.

You can find my Mini-Review here.

My Rating: ★★★★★

Artemis by Andy Weir

Thanks to NetGalley I was able to read the ARC for this book. Since the book is only coming out in November I will leave the Goodreads-Synopsis and later leave a link to my review on Goodreads here. (And a link to my review once I hit publish)

Jazz Bashara is a criminal.

Well, sort of. Life on Artemis, the first and only city on the moon, is tough if you’re not a rich tourist or an eccentric billionaire. So smuggling in the occasional harmless bit of contraband barely counts, right? Not when you’ve got debts to pay and your job as a porter barely covers the rent.

Everything changes when Jazz sees the chance to commit the perfect crime, with a reward too lucrative to turn down. But pulling off the impossible is just the start of Jazz’s problems, as she learns that she’s stepped square into a conspiracy for control of Artemis itself – and that now, her only chance at survival lies in a gambit even more unlikely than the first.

Added on 17/08/17: As promised my review on Goodreads.

My Rating: ★★★/★

The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

I read this book for London Fantasy and Science Fiction Book Club and honestly I’m so happy this book was chosen for this month. I didn’t know what this book would be about when I started it, tho halfway through I read it was some sort of retelling of russian folklore tales.

But about the book .. I’m honestly at loss for words. This books was nothing like the other books I read so far. The story was building slowly up and I wasn’t sure if I like that at first. But the deeper I got into the story the more I liked it. And by the end of the book I was totally in love with the story and Katherine Arden’s writing.

My Rating: ★★★★★

Books I re-read in July

23734628

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Last month I got an Email from a german publisher called dtv, who are gonna publish the german version of Carry On later this year. Now why was I excited about that email you may ask. Because with it I got a free EBook copy of the book.

Carry On was one of my favourite books last year so of course I had to get to it as soon as possible. And this month I finally had some time. I still love this book so freaking much and can’t wait for it to be published in German as well. Also I may or may not have bullied my friends into reading this book but psssh.


What did you read in June? What books are on your TBR for August?

Leave a Reply

