Best books of 2018 // Blogmas

1 Day to Christmas

And here we are. The week flew past quickly, didn’t it? Tomorrow is Christmas Eve. So I wanted to close my Blogmas with an overview of my top reads this year. Sounds good?

Here we go:

Feminists Don’t Wear Pink (and other lies). This book is so freaking important. I hope as many people as possible read this. I’ve got a review here.

Iskari. I read The Last Namsara as one of the books I bought from my TBR on Goodreads. After I read it I had to find out if there were going to be and lucky for me it was published not long after and obviously I had to preorder it right away. What can I say. I loved it. I loved everything about these books.

Witchmark. My queer heart loved this book so much. We have this amazing story between Miles and Tristan and I wish I could have read on about them forever. Also the story was so catchy and it got me  turning the pages until there were no more pages.

The Astonishing Colour of After. This book gave me so many emotions. If you want to pick it up beware that it deals with suicide and depression. But it does it in such a brilliant way.

Binti. What a wonderful short book. It’s a brilliant story about a girl that has the chance to go to prestige university but gets caught up in the business of of a different race. I loved how unique it was. Somebody please tell me the other books are just as good so I can finally get to them.

All the Crooked Saints. What a magical book. One more book by Maggie Stiefvater I just devoured. I don’t even know how to put my thoughts about this book in words.

Wonder. Can you believe it took me 6 six years to read this book? Me neither. And it’s such an important book as well.

We should all be Feminists. This is Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie talk she held at TEDx. She talks about the time she realized she was a feminist and talks about so many important issues. Obviously it is a rather short book but so powerful.

Children of Time. I’m so thankful for Book Club for getting me to read this book because to be honest otherwise I probably wouldn’t have picked it up. If you love a little feministic Sci Fi, this is your go to. It was brilliant! Absolutely brilliant.

Obsidio. This book. This effing book. It was so freaking good and a totally deserving ending to a brilliant trilogy. It also crushed my heart in million pieces, but like in a good way.

The Raven Boys Cycle. I don’t know what made me buy this book when I found it on sale at Book Depository, but I did. And I do not regret it. Because I loved this series so much. I was pulled right into the story and wouldn’t let me go until I had read all four books.

The Invisible Child and The Fir Tree. When I was young I grew up watching the Moomins on TV. Now, many many years later I found out they were actually based on books and I found this lovely book where the Moomin family celebrates christmas for the first time.

Ancillary Justice. Breq is on a far away planet, covered in ice. She is close to complet a quest she had set herself so long ago. Once she was a colossal starship, now she is looking for vengeance.

 


What books did you love this year? What were your highest ratings? What were your lowest ratings?

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Of Midnight Ravings

Elle's Readings, Raves and Random Ramblings

Jean's Thoughts

Time to type...

Writing and Rhythm

Most of all I love to write stories and dance!